The Effect of 9/11

Fred Grandy stars/runs/runs amok/is hilarious on the morning show on WMAL in DC in the morning.  This morning he and his wife, Mrs. Fred, interviewed Former Ambassador Akbar Ahmed on the Mosque and the far reaching effect of 9/11 on America.

The interview is here.

Mr. Ahmed was also interview for a CNN blog on religion.  Part of it he repeated in the on-air interview with Fred Grandy.

“I don’t think the Muslim leadership has fully appreciated the impact of  9/11 on America. They assume Americans have forgotten 9/11 and even, in a profound way, forgiven 9/11, and that has not happened. The wounds remain largely open,” said Akbar Ahmed, an Islamic studies professor at American University in Washington, D.C.

“And when wounds are raw, an episode like constructing a house of worship – even one protected by the Constitution, protected by law – becomes like  salt in the wounds,” he argued, even as he said that “blaming an entire community for 9/11 is ridiculous.”

I really don’t think Americans generally hate Muslims.  I don’t.  I also don’t think, however, we have any tolerance at all for dissembling about terror.  Maybe someone can explain this to me, but Imam Rauf refusing to admit that Hamas and Hezbollah are terrorist organizations just pisses me off.  It makes me think things.  Like, for instance, that Imam Rauf refuses to call them what they are because he agrees with them.

It’s like saying to me that you are still friends with the man who raped and killed my daughter because he’s the duly elected mayor of my town and then you try to tell me he’s got this good side and maybe she was dressed provocatively.

Oh. Hell. No.  You remain on speaking terms with that guy you don’t remain on speaking terms with me.  You defend those actions AND try to lay blame on my daughter and you are now my enemy just as surely as the guy who raped and killed her.  Just saying.

This is how I see the issue.  If Imam Rauf was an outspoken opponent of honor killings, terrorism and sharia law, I doubt there would be much of an issue with building the mosque.  Most Americans would say okay and move on.

But he isn’t.  He refuses to call out Hamas and Hezbollah.  He defends sharia law and wants to make America sharia compliant.  You see?  He’s wandering over to being my enemy.  Not Muslims.  Not Islam.  Imam Rauf.  HIM.  That guy, the one with the mosque near the place where my people were murdered.

It is deeply important to me that Muslims reject terrorist actions, violence against women and sharia.  It’s visceral with me.  Same way I had issues with Robert Byrd and his KKK ties.  I never believed that old grand dragon of racism repented, truly repented from his racist ways.  I think he took it underground to retain power.  In that way matters to me that you can vocalize and walk the walk against the very beliefs that drove 19 men to hijack four planes full of passengers to use them as bombs to bring down buildings full of workers.  If you can’t do that, then I doubt you.  I doubt your motives.  I doubt your namby pamby wishy washy cowardly statements that equivocate on these issues.

For me to trust you with building a religious place to worship the same god in the same religion that drove those men to kill 3000 of my people there on that spot, I need to know you will have my back.  If I know that, then heck, move on in.  But I don’t know that about Imam Rauf.  In fact, I’ve got deep misgivings and doubts because of his actions and words.  I do not trust him at all.

So yeah, I’m not down with that Imam and that mosque being built within spitting distance of the site of mass murder perpetrated by his co-religionists.  I’m not down with that at all.

Ambassador Ahmed has written a book I’m going to read, Journey into America.

This entry was posted in War and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Effect of 9/11

  1. Dana says:

    Ditto. It would be so very easy for him to reassure the doubting public. And he refuses. It’s not hard to connect the dots.

Comments are closed.