Civil Discourse – A Tale of Two Standards – Now with MORE Double Standards

During the George W. Bush administration we were told that dissent was the highest form a patriotism.  Dissent that included images like this:

This was the standard form of protest during the previous administration.  Bush was Hitler was pretty much required protest fashion for the aspiring protester.

This next picture was taken at an Obama campaign rally in Denver in October 2008.

Obama has never distanced himself or denounced these sorts of displays of violence encouraging free speechifying.  I doubt he ever will.

Conservatives are called racists, evil and war-mongers.  My favorite is fascist.  I love when liberals call me a fascist.  Then I take the opportunity to school the stupid idiot what a fascist really is and then not to gently inform the liberal that THEY have much more in common ideologically with the fascists than I do.

So, now that there are conservatives protesting, we get told that we are evil, racist violence mongers for protesting, because under a Democrat administration, protests (except the ones against Bush)…(still) are racist.  And encouraging violence.

I do not advocate for assassination of any American politician.  Never have.  However, I’d like to remind the left that these protests are what THEY gave birth too.  After 8 long insane years of violence encouraging protests, REAL violence-encouraging protests, I say just shut it.  Do not talk to me about Tea Party rhetoric being too bombastic.  blahblahblah  I am not listening.

I’m not even going to address the insanity that is the left’s response to Sarah Palin and her children.  Un-frickin-believable.

Want to talk about issues in a logical and calm manner?  Come on over.  I’ll make you fresh bread and fresh coffee.  I’d be happy to make you dinner and we can discuss.

Want to scream in my face and call me a fascist?  Talk to the Gadsden Flag.

I’d also like to say that the claims last weekend of spitting and other claims of someone shouting “nigger” at a congressman are, I believe, false.  Let me be clear: those claims are lies.  There were thousands of people there, hundreds of cameras.   No one caught either event on video.  Andrew Breitbart has offered $10,000 for video proof of the epithet incident.  No bites yet.

What started this rant was a post on Instapundit about an email calling for Glenn Reynolds to be more civil.  LMAO!!!  I’m copying it here because it’s funny as heck:

I cannot emphasize this enough: your brand of public discourse is hurting our country. It us poison. So fuck you, you GOP utensil, and fuck your mother for bringing you forth.

Can you smell the civility in that?  Yeah, me neither.  And the grammar.  SWEET!

Cracks me up, all the time, how people who claim to be peace activists are really quick to to wish violence on anyone they disagree with.  Kinda war-like, if you follow.  Certainly, um, MILITANT.  Wishing that my mother would get raped as a way to encourage civil discourse always works with me.  That is what “f*** your mother” means, you know.

Extra Double Standardy:

I’d forgotten, but Power Line reminded me.

I attended the convention and remember the terrorist acts that were carried out by anti-Republican protesters very well. They threw bricks through the windows of buses, sending elderly convention delegates to the hospital. They dropped bags of sand off highway overpasses onto vehicles below. Fortunately, no one was killed.

Go read all of it.

Funny how when the victim of actual violence, a brick to the head, is an elderly Republican, it’s totally not worthy of attention.  However, when the victim is no victim at all and is a Democrat, just someone who claims to be called a bad name but there is no proof, why, that’s the obvious approach of the first horseman of the Republican Armaggedon.

So, the standards according to the Main Stream Media are as follows:

1. Newsworthy: Bricks into empty Democrat offices – really bad and could lead to the end of the world.

2. NOT Newsworthy: Bricks into occupied buses causing actual injury to an elderly Republican American – YAWN! What’s Garfield doing today?!!  Oooo, look!  Paris Hilton!!!!!

This entry was posted in Our Culture in Hell and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Civil Discourse – A Tale of Two Standards – Now with MORE Double Standards

  1. emmy says:

    Not to mention that a whole lot of people did a whole lot of work and suffering to make sure that we have the right and ability to protest should we choose to do so.

    Unless I got ALL of my history lessons incorrect… was this very country not founded as protest?
    Public discourse- loud and not pretty founded this place and so far has kept it here…

    and yes, I claim to be a tad militant- if pushed, isn’t anyone who is honest?

    Just because I disagree with a politician and all the he or she espouses, does not have anything to do with their race, or creed, I can consider you a jerk without even bothering with all that stuff.

    I am still waiting for my copy of the ‘Bibical Change Healthcare Agenda’ After all- if I get to go to jail for it, I should at least get to read it for myself…. ( or did they votte out informed consent along with due process?)

    or is that too much of a protest for these guys?

  2. Matt Snyder says:

    Tired of the post-election bait-&-switch? Been sold out by your government? Sick of hearing politicians talk about accountability, but not being accountable? Looking for an alternative to open, armed revolt? Read on…

    We the people need to demand to have the ability to immediately remove for no confidence, fraud, or other crime committed against the American people as a whole. There would be no trial, we collectively determine whether or not they are immediately fired. The need and timing for such a change in leadership by special election would be determined by internet polling of all registered voters. The time for accepting a campaign promise without immediate removal and criminal prosecution of the elected immediately when an appropriate number of American citizens perceive they are not being represented by our representative form of government. The BIG BROTHER-ISM that will be a big part of Health Care Reform is not just un-American, it is anti-American, as is manufacturing crises to provide excuse for the government to “take-over” or “reform” anything. These are crimes, plain and simple.

    Without REAL criminal accountability, our politicians will lie, subvert the Constitution, and ruin many innocent lives as a result of grossly negligent actions taken while on an “electoral ego trip” until there is revolution and “We the People”, clean house. I hope it is never made as necessary as it will probably soon be.

  3. Dana says:

    It’s rather like repeatedly hitting your head against a wall, isn’t it, VL? Just stunning levels of hypocrisy – and denial.

Comments are closed.