Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

IMG_0850

For some reason I can’t say the name of these pies to save my life.  I’ve called them all sorts of things but rarely Pumpkin Whoopie Pies.  I’ve called them cushions, mangled whoopie, mangled pumpkin, mangled pies.  I can not say the name of these treats to save my frickin life.  It’s wack.

But what is equally wack is how good they are.  I  saw them on Serious Eats and had to make them for Halloween.  The recipe is at the link.  I was very surprised at how easy these were to make.  I think next time I’ll try to find a less sweet filling, maybe I’ll use honey and cream cheese.  Maybe dark chocolate something.  Whatever it is, I’ll be making them again.

The dry ingredients:

IMG_0828

Now the batter:  (I forgot to get a picture of the wet stuff.)

IMG_0830

My favorite tool for stuff like this?

IMG_0832

This scoop is the perfect size for a two/three bit whoopie pie.  I don’t think I’d want to make them smaller.  The scoop also make scooping the neat option for this recipe.  I ♥ my scoop.

Here are some pre-oven raw whoopies on thier little sheet of baking wonderment, parchment paper:

IMG_0829

And now in their post-ovenness:

IMG_0833

Here is a whole bunch of them!

IMG_0835

And the filling:

IMG_0840

And now for the completed whoopies!

IMG_0849

This entry was posted in Recipes/Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

  1. Brandi says:

    Oh, yum.

    My grandmother was the queen of whoopie pies, but she only made the traditional chocolate ones. And the filling was always too sweet/greasy. Apparently that’s the hallmark of whoopie pies. I’ve never had one made by anyone where the filling didn’t leave me nearing a diabetic coma with a grease film on my tongue.

    Maine claims that it is where whoopie pies originated. I don’t know if that’s true or not, but as a native Mainer I’m compelled to believe it.

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Brandi, there was no Crisco killed in the making of this whoopie, that’s the usual main ingredient in fillings. Ugh, I can’t imagine whipping up a big batch of fluffy crisco & sugar. I’m with you, the fillings are usually too much.

    I like the cream cheese filling, I’d just like it to be not quite so sweet.

  3. Dana says:

    I’ve never heard of whoopie pies! They look and sound yum, I love cream cheese fillings… I’m making pumpkin pies today. It must be autumn.

  4. vivianlouise says:

    Dana, I think they are a northeastern thing. For sure they are an eastern thing. The Amish make tons of whoopie pies.

    You would enjoy them, I think.

    Pumpkin. I heart pumpkin. I love pumpkin soup, pumpkin curry, pumpkin. Happy. I bought a cheese pumpkin this weekend. I’ll document the slaughter and butchery of my pumpkin and the eventual dishes I’ll make with it.

    I regret that my yard is too small to support a pumpkin patch. We used to grow them here, but the hedges took over the spots we used for the patch. Mom once grew a hundred pound pumpkin then donated it to my elementary school. I’ll try to find the picture, then scan it in to post it.

  5. Dana says:

    OMG. 100 pumpkins??? Gotta see that picture! What a really great memory to have of your mom.

Comments are closed.