Operation Welcome Home – BWI

Last night I had the honor of participating in Operation Welcome Home, Maryland, at BWI Airport.  I went with the Youth/Parents group from my church, there were about 21 people with just our group.  Quite a number of other people were there too.  I took a bunch of pictures, but that section of the airport is really dark, so not many came out.

IMG_0074This is where the Men and Women Soldiers/Sailors/Marines/Airmen start their walk through the gauntlet of seriously grateful American Civilians.

IMG_0076This is the Wall of Visual Evidence of Our Gratitude.

The people who organized this were amazing.  It was all set up when we got there, they had way cool shirts, the posters were up, the gift bags had been sorted and were repacked for easy distribution and we were welcomed and thanked generously just for showing up to clap.  I felt like a poseur, but they remained gracious and kind, and really, I wasn’t there for them.  So I thanked them even more just to get back at them.  Sweet revenge. 😉

IMG_0077

This is what they walk under.

IMG_0088

The stack of gift bags.  Everything in the gift bags is donated, either the products themselves or the money to purchase the products.  I have no idea what’s in them and I forgot to ask.

IMG_0085

These are the people who led the OWH last night.  They were organized, clear, concise and then lead us in the pledge of allegiance with the cub scouts and girl scouts who came.  (I have a feeling they drew the awesome pictures for the wall.)

IMG_0082

The kids got into it too.

IMG_0084These people even had coloring books and crayons for the little kids.  Seriously, I’m deeply in love with them.

They had us line up next to the rope once they got word the plane had landed and the men and women (and families) were going through customs.  There was an alternate escape route for non-military peeps.  They were all asked as they came through the doors from customs if they were military and then sorted accordingly.  When the lady at the door got a “Yes!” to her military question she rang a bell.  Seriously.  And then we clapped.  Like crazy people.  Lots of people yelled, whistled and hooted.

Some soldiers just walked down and acknowledged us a little.  Some of them fist-bumped everyone, one lady soldier wept.  Since this flight was also bringing home quite a few families, pets included, we got to say thank you to them also.  One girl must have been able to go back to customs to greet her soldier man, because he wore her all the way down the greeting aisle and for a bit after:

IMG_0111

They were like this for quite some time.

There was a lot more, one wife was obviously introducing a man to his child for the first time.  She was weeping pretty hard, he was intense and I looked away.  That’s totally not the time for some random civilian snapping pictures of their family time.

I got clapping calluses and shouted a lot.  It was the best Friday night I’ve had in a long time.  If you get a chance to do this, do it.

IMG_0126Cause these guys?  They are worth it.

This entry was posted in AWESOMENESS, Maryland, War and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Operation Welcome Home – BWI

  1. Dana says:

    It’s a beautiful thing.

  2. Dana says:

    p.s. this reminds me, I haven’t yet seen the movie but the trailer convinced me I need to see it when it comes around…

    http://www.thewaywegetbymovie.com/

  3. Wow everyone, it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that’ll probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Catasauqua I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

Comments are closed.