DM of the Rings

I just found this two days ago, maybe it was yesterday.  Whatever, doesn’t matter.  It’s funny as heck.  It reminds me of the dungeons I played through when I was younger, usually I was the one asleep at the table after 10 pm.  Everyone would let gross things happen to my characters while I slept and then wake me to tell me my half-elven female archer was now pregnant with an orc baby.  Dang it.  At least they never put my hand in warm water and giggled while I peed my pants in my sleep.  (Thank you to my Sr. High Youth Group Ski Retreat for THOSE memories.)

I’ve loved Tolkien’s stories since ever, I read the Hobbit so long ago I don’t remember, but I was young.  I loved the imagery of Bilbo and the Dwarves needing to stay on the path.  I read the Lord of the Rings in my teens, then again later.  Then again later.  Then the movies came out.  Oh my.  I fell in love with Aragorn all over again.  Then the Silmarillion came out again and I slogged through that, only it’s work to get through, so I’ve never read it front to back.  I just tackle sections with long pauses in between.  I haven’t read the newer books as they’ve come out.  I might, I don’t know.  I’m satisfied with the ending in LOTR.  Though, I’d love to know more about the story of Luthien and Beren.  (Those names appear on Tolkien’s and Mrs. Tolkien’s gravestones, sweet, no?)

All that to say, I’ve an affection for both D&D and LOTR.  Hilarious to see the smash up.

Below is the back story and first image.  Shamus Young is the author.  Read the rest, it will take you a while, but it is ever so fun.

Lord of the Rings is more or less the foundation of modern D&D. The latter rose from the former, although the two are now so estranged that to reunite them would be an act of savage madness. Imagine a gaggle of modern hack-n-slash roleplayers who had somehow never been exposed to the original Tolkien mythos, and then imagine taking those players and trying to introduce them to Tolkien via a D&D campaign.

Lord of the Rings, D&D campaign

This entry was posted in AWESOMENESS, bloggyness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.