The Obligatory Michael Jackson Post

Our culture is in hell.  Seriously.  The insanity of the coverage over the death of an accused pedophile and drug addict who, also, happened to be talented; was outrageous.  And grotestque.

This is what is happening in other parts of the world:

In this country, while Iranian people die, attacked by snipers from roof tops and axe weilding government paid thugs – Geraldo Rivera salivates over the corpse of Jackson as it’s flown from the hospital to the morgue, at one point he even took to guessing the weight of the corpse.  How is this news?

I’m ticked at Fox.  They had managed the weekend before to be the only cable news network to run live coverage of the revolution in Iran.  An actually important story, one will determine Middle East policy for quite some time.  This weekend, while axes were chopping and bats were breaking the bodies of the protesters in Iran, Fox spent every flipping moment possible weeping over a celebrity who abused himself to death.

The only relief came when, weirdly, Billy Mays died.

It is a matter of shame to me that my fellow countrymen are so entirely willing to worship celebrity and fame rather than character.  I’ll give you that Michael Jackson was talented.  I’ll give you that he had a cultural impact.  But Merlin’s pants! Where is the perspective?  Dude was just an entertainer.  Only.  He was also a peculiarly twisted and deeply weird man.  Recognize the talent, but the screaming and the crying?  Ugh.

It is particularly revolting that the death of a musician moves more people in this country than the fight to obtain liberty from tyranny.  How in the HELL did we get here?

And the people in Iran fight for a right we are happily giving away…

This entry was posted in History, Our Culture in Hell, Protests, Vacuosity, World Issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Obligatory Michael Jackson Post

  1. My heart goes out to the family of Michael Jackson especially his children. I am still in shock about his death. I believe that Michael Jackson contributed alot when it comes to the music business. He had a remarkable talent. He was the inspiration for a lot of other musicians. Michael has definitely left his mark and his music will continue to live on. I remember as a child growing up listening to his music. One of my favorite songs when he was a child was Ben. Michael has inspired millions of people through his music.

  2. John Stark says:

    I agree with the previous post – Michael Jackson was an amazing talent, and the sky is less bright without his star in it. This past week has been a tough one for Hollywood -Ed McMahon, Billy Mays, Michael Jackson, Farrah Fawcett. To many bright stars going dim all at once…

  3. vivianlouise says:

    Spammers.

    I think the sky is less bright when there are clouds in it.

    Stars going dim my left buttock. Bloody hell, did you two even read what I wrote or are you too busy licking your Thriller liner notes?

  4. caroljm36 says:

    He was the inspiration for a lot of other musicians.

    What instrument did he play? I must have missed that.

  5. Mexigogue says:

    It’s kind of like how I’m dumbfounded that people make a big deal about that Caylee Anthony (or whatever the name is) baby that died like a year ago. It’s not my baby and it has absolutely nothing to do with me so I can’t understand why people were camping outside the baby’s grandparents’ house and much worse, keeping it in the news. Then somebody explained to me that it’s news because a lot of people care about the story even though I don’t. Personally I don’t care about Caylee Anthony or her stupid family and to be honest I don’t care about Michael Jackson’s family either. But I am grief stricken that he died. He’s an integral part of life just as much as Stevie Wonder, Prince, O.J. Simpson, Michael Jordan, Eddie Murphy, Richard Pryor, and the Frito Bandito. Sleep tight Michael and don’t fret if you don’t make it into heaven because, as Pat Benetar said, Hell is for Children!

  6. Dana says:

    I heard on the news that the worldwide memorial service for MJ is in the planning stages. Great.

  7. vivianlouise says:

    I can totally appreciate being sad that a favorite performer is gone, heck, I’m still upset about Buddy Holly. 😀

    The Caylee Anthony thing is exactly the same as the Michael Jackson thing – too much. It’s too much emotion invested in someone these people don’t know. At all. Am I glad that woman was convicted of killing her daughter? Sure. Am I sad for Jackson’s kids? Totally. Do I still think the coverage AND outpouring of grief is off the charts inappropriate? Yep.

Comments are closed.