Iced Chai Tea

On flipping hot and muggy days the only thing I want to drink is barely sweetened iced tea.  Remember my new favorite thing?  That totally yummy sweet coconut thai chai?  It’s great in iced tea.

I make no claims to make authentic Southern Iced Tea.  Though I do live slightly below the Mason Dixon Line, I am not a southerner.  I am not a northerner.  I am a border state girl.  If you aren’t, then you really can’t relate.  It’s a geographical thing, you can’t find it.  We are southern enough to annoy the northerners and northern enough to annoy the southerners.  I like that.

Also, please don’t attempt to imitate a Maryland Crab Cake anywhere away from the Chesapeake.  Just don’t do it.

For my tea, I fill a medium pot about 2/3 full of water, throw in 5 bags of regular tea and one bag of the chai.  I let it come to a boil, and then to boil for a little while.  In a gallon container I add 1/2 cup of sugar.  Then I pour the strong tea over top of the sugar and stir until it is disolved.  After that I add ice cubes about half way, then fill the rest with cold water from the tap.

It’s not terribly strong, yet it’s very refreshing, not bitter and not too sweet.

Carry on .

This entry was posted in All About Me, Maryland, Recipes/Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iced Chai Tea

  1. Marianne says:

    I am from MD, and I can totally relate. I haven’t been able to articulate it until now. It is so true!

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Marianne, isn’t it funny? I don’t think anyone outside of Maryland really gets it.

Comments are closed.