More Pictures

Just a couple more pictures from the other day.  My computer was giving me fits and wouldn’t allow me to post the rest of the pictures I wanted to post.  Meh.

Okay, so, back to that little tiny bed facing my front door:

DSC01626

You can’t really see it from the street, so it’s just for us.  I like that.  We are in the process of figuring out if we are going to put mulch under all the stones or just some of the stones.  I’d really like to plant some irish moss in between all the stones.  Dad isn’t so jiggy with that.  Maybe I can plant some.  I’ve got to get a picture of the moss I already have up front.  It’s so cute, with little white flowers.  Awwww.

So, back to the bed.  I’ve got a tiny little sedum that I planted about two months ago.  It’s already spreading and blooming:

DSC01627

Isn’t that adorable?  Yeah.  Next to it, right at the bottom of the picture, is another ground cover, I don’t remember it’s name.  It spreads and looks pretty.  The best part is that it doesn’t allow weeds to poke through.  LOVE that.

I’ve packed a ton of tiny plants into that small bed.  A punch of alyssum, some coleus, a sweet potato vine, cosmos and some other annuals.  A friend gave me an anemone.  I am DYING for that to get big and blossom, but as it’s a perennial, it will take a lot more time to fill out than the annuals.

DSC01628

I really love that bird statue.  It reminds me of Mom, but in it’s own right, I just love it.

DSC01630

Remember when we powerwashed the patio last year?  The grime is back.  Grrrr.

DSC01631

This is a picture of my backyard looking from the patio out to the park.  Is this lush enough yet?  With the rain we’ve had I certainly hope so.  At least today I’ll be able to get out between the monsoons and weed.  Pesky morning glories.  argh!

Lastly, this is what I made for Dad’s dinner Thursday.  I took a picture because it looked so tasty.DSC01633

Can you tell green is my favorite color?  I love the way the deglazed sauce makes the steak all shiny.  Don’t tell anyone, but I used Courvousier to deglaze the steak pan and poured that over the steak.  Oh my.  Broccoli rabe and cilantro-rice round out the meal.

This entry was posted in Garden, Recipes/Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.