…and THAT is supposed to comfort me?

Last night as I was watching the news with my Dad attempting to not throw things at the screen or shout epithets at the “journalists”, a story on the Obama Administration’s change in the travel rules to Cuba came on.  Oiy.  The “expert” used was saying that the USA should get with the program and the rest of the world doesn’t have a problem with Cuba.  Then she said, “Russia, China and Venezuela all have excellent relationships with Cuba, and so should we.”

Ummm…

Well…

Using The USSRRussia*coughPutin-is-KGBcough*, China *coughCommunistswho-suppress-all-oppositioncough* and Venezuela *coughLed-by-a-wackjob-nutball-communistcough* as examples of what we, the United States of America, should do isn’t convincing.  In fact, I would say it leads me to precisely the OPPOSITE conclusion.  Also, punkin, may I note that it should not be surprising that communist nations have good relationships with other communist nations.  That’s kind of why they all sit at the same lunch table.  Sort of the same way we, a representative democracy, sit at the same lunch table with other representative democracies.  It’s a whole similar world view makes working together attractive thing.

I didn’t make a note of the looney tune who said that because I was choking on my brussels sprouts trying not to scream.

This entry was posted in Flapdoodlery, Our Culture in Hell, stupid! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to …and THAT is supposed to comfort me?

  1. Phelps says:

    I support normalization with Cuba, but solely because American culture is the strongest poison against Communist regimes. That’s why China and Korea keep such tight controls, and what sunk Russia.

    American tourists could easily be the greatest threat to the Castro regime.

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Oh I agree. It’s just the choice of countries to encourage me to go along with it. Heck, saying France had normalized relations with Cuba would have been better. I don’t want to be like Russia, China or Venezuela.

    Not that France is a fabulous option, but at least they make awesome cheese and wine.

Comments are closed.