Welcome to This Fresh Hell and Other Thoughts

A new report from the Department of Homeland Security should scare the poop out of you, regardless of your political leanings left or right.

I suggest you read Michelle Malkin’s post then Power Line.

According to this report, I am now a “Rightwing extremist”.  Awesome.  My own government who, by the way, is honor bound to uphold my right to speak freely, has labeled my dislike of the new administrations plans “extremist”.

Many rightwing extremists are antagonistic toward the new presidential administration and its perceived stance on a range of issues, including immigration and citizenship, the expansion of social programs to minorities, and restrictions on firearms ownership and use. Rightwing extremists are increasingly galvanized by these concerns and leverage them as drivers for recruitment.

HEY!  I’m opposed to all that stuff.

Well, let’s nuance this a bit.

I’m deeply opposed to ILLEGAL immigration.  I ♥ legal immigrants.  I ♥ them hard. ILLEGAL aliens have broken laws to enter this country.  Their laws and our laws.  Meaning, multiple laws were broken.  Meaning they are criminals.  Get it?  It’s an equation.  Let me show you:  abiding by the law = legal alien.  breaking the law = illegal alien.  See?  Wasn’t that easy?

I have a problem with the expansion of social programs period, it hasn’t got jack doodlysquat with the race of the person receiving it.  I happen to think government handouts create slaves, that handouts never ever make our lives better and that they create more poverty than they alleviate.  Even worse, they create a poverty of character and soul.

Anyone who studies the reasons for the American revolution can figure out why I firmly believe that a safe populace is an armed populace.

Somehow all of that makes me an “extremist”.  Hunh?  I thought that speaking “truth to power” was cool and good.  I’ve seen “Question Authority” bumper stickers my whole life.  Now, it would appear, those bumper stickers should have read “Question only the authority I don’t agree with, otherwise shut up you extremist!”  Soooo hopey changey.

Heck, I’m respectful towards the office of the POTUS.  Unlike much of the opposition of the past 8 years, I don’t call Obama a chimp, or Hitler.  I don’t imagine that there is some secret assassination squad run by Biden scurrying around killing anyone who says anything against Obama.  Though, to be honest, the idea that blabber mouth, Biden, could keep something like that a secret when he’s not even able to stop himself from lying, is beyond my ability to suspend belief.

So, I am an extremist.  Welcome to my fresh hell.

Remember, first they come for the Jews, then the retarded and the physically handicapped,  then the intellectuals and then they come for you.

Typical fascism, hiding behind something else, like an economic downturn, to take over and force their vision on everyone.

David Rehbein, the National Commander of the American Legion has some rather sharp words for DHS head, Janet Napolitano.  Read the full letter on Hot Air.  This next bit is my favorite:

The American Legion is well aware and horrified at the pain inflicted during the Oklahoma City bombing, but Timothy McVeigh was only one of more than 42 million veterans who have worn this nation’s uniform during wartime. To continue to use McVeigh as an example of the stereotypical “disgruntled military veteran” is as unfair as using Osama bin Laden as the sole example of Islam.

Now, onto the other thoughts.  The governor of Texas, Rick Perry, is some kind of wonderful:

AUSTIN  Gov. Rick Perry joined state Rep. Brandon Creighton and sponsors of House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 50 in support of states’ rights under the 10th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

I believe that our federal government has become oppressive in its size, its intrusion into the lives of our citizens, and its interference with the affairs of our state, Gov. Perry said. That is why I am here today to express my unwavering support for efforts all across our country to reaffirm the states’ rights affirmed by the Tenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. I believe that returning to the letter and spirit of the U.S. Constitution and its essential 10th Amendment will free our state from undue regulations, and ultimately strengthen our Union.

Perry continued: “Millions of Texans are tired of Washington, DC trying to come down here to tell us how to run Texas.”

A number of recent federal proposals are not within the scope of the federal government’s constitutionally designated powers and impede the states’ right to govern themselves. HCR 50 affirms that Texas claims sovereignty under the 10th Amendment over all powers not otherwise granted to the federal government.

It also designates that all compulsory federal legislation that requires states to comply under threat of civil or criminal penalties, or that requires states to pass legislation or lose federal funding, be prohibited or repealed.

Hubba Hubba.

My own personal governor, Martin O’Malley, will gladly take whatever Texas doesn’t want.

Someone, hand me a tissue!

(Hat tip to the Malkin, Rehbein and Perry stuff to Phelps)

This entry was posted in Flapdoodlery, History, It's the economy, Just an Observation, Me Weeping, Our Culture in Hell, Ugh-Obama and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to This Fresh Hell and Other Thoughts

  1. Sidney Carton says:

    Rightwing extremist?

    Welcome to the national security state, perhaps you can sympathize with those Quakers who were seen as so threatening by the Bush Administration?

  2. Pingback: Welcome to This Fresh Hell and Other Thoughts « Letters from Glome

  3. Dana says:

    Hanging out on the extremist edge with you, VL. The view is terrific. And oh boy that Rick Perry!

  4. Pingback: HOTAiR: Confirmed: The Obama DHS hit job on conservatives is real | Fire Janet Napolitano

Comments are closed.