SweetPea

She hums when she eats,

  and lights up when she sees you,

   with a smile as big as the sky.

 

She can hop like a frog and

  a rabbit and a cricket,

   Unlike a bird or a dragon, she can’t fly.

 

She loves you this much,

  with her arms open wide,

   holding her, you can squeak out a sigh.

 

She is precious, my sweetpea,

  and daring and funny,

   And I never want to say goodbye.

 

(c) 2003 Vivian Louise Saavedra

*This was written for and inspired by my niece, Sweetpea, precious little girl.

 

This entry was posted in Family, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SweetPea

  1. teeveebee says:

    Vivianlouise,
    Thanks for sharing your poetry with us. I enjoyed it very much. I have five beautiful nieces and one amazing daughter, all grown up now, but still my sweet peas. Your poem made me smile to think of them.

  2. Nancy says:

    That’s one lucky niece you’ve got there.

Comments are closed.