Something I Can Agree With…

I’ll admit, I’ve been a bit cranky lately, so I thought I’d post on something I agree with: Lowering the drinking age to 18.

When I was 18 the only place I could go out to a club was DC because the drinking age was still 18 there.  I couldn’t buy booze in Maryland.  Then, I thought it was ridiculous because I wanted to party closer to home.  Now, I just think it’s wise and right to have the legal drinking age set at 18.

If we can sign a man or woman up for the military at 17 and they can begin to serve our country in battle at 18, well, they should be allowed to drink as well.  If they are adult enough to make the decision to join the military, they are adult enough to choose to drink wisely.

I teach a class in alcohol service as a part of my job, and the company that certified me to teach also runs classes teaching responsible drinking.  It dispels myths about drinking and gives the participants the knowledge to drink, drink well and to learn to say when.  Just like you teach a child to drive, you can teach them to drink.

Just one more thing, I really believe that raising the drinking age to 21 helps to emasculate men.  Why?  Because it’s one more roadblock to being a fully qualified adult, it’s one more way the state can continue babysitting free citizens and forcing conformity.  If we are held responsible as an adult for any crime we commit, if we can vote, join the military, get a full time job, choose higher education all because we are 18, it makes no sense to then in the same breath say we aren’t responsible enough to choose to have a gin and tonic in the evening.

So, I throw my hat into the “Choose Responsibility” ring.

This entry was posted in Just an Observation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something I Can Agree With…

  1. Dana says:

    I absolutely agree if a young man is willing to serve in our military and fight for his country, especially when their is no choice and he is drafted, that heck yeah, he should be able to pony up to the bar.

    OTH, 18 is not an age known for sound and responsible decision making. Especially in young men. The need to prove oneself, pass muster and gobs of testosterone don’t help the situation.

    I’m on the fence.

  2. Emmy says:

    I have to say that I have been saying this for as long as I can remember. And I started saying it REALLY loudly when my child was the one who had signed up to have bullets shot at him, but was able to be busted because he had a beer.

    No- 18 is not known as an age of wisdom, however- I, and many others managed to be pretty responsible, and even make parental decisions for other people at that age, so I think having a drink when one wants one shouldn’t be that big of an issue.

Comments are closed.