Cooking From Scratch. Ish.

There are only a couple of things that really make me crazy, well, lots of things, but bad food when good food is available is near the top of the list.  And I don’t mean bad food as in spoiled food.  I mean eating crap expensive old food when wholesome cheap fresh food is easily obtained and prepared.  Prepared food is awful, even when it’s organic.

I’m not buying that it takes too long to cook or that people are too busy either.  You can make a decent meal in about 30 minutes that uses little to no prepared anything.  It’s really easy.  Rice – ready in less than 30 minutes.  Ground beef – ready in 20 including chopping aromatics to saute with the beef.  Vegetable – ready in four minutes if you steam it in the micro wave.  And viola! You have a meal.  When you have time, cook more elaborately.  Prepare ahead of time and you can have finer things during the week.

Anywho, why the rant?  Well, it started with Megan McArdle’s article in The Atlantic about all the unnecessary and or useless things in your kitchen.  (via Instapundit) Then, last night I got an email from my e-sister, Dana, with a link to a photo story in Time, What the World Eats, a series of photos with families and their weekly food intake about them.

Add all that up, welcome to my rant.  What set me off were the tables of the Americans and the Brits.  We live in abject prosperity and wealth, even now, even after the stock markets plunged.  And we are eating awful food.  Just wretched.  GAH!

Below are my comments on the essay lifted from an email I sent to my sister Martha.

  • The Japanese family eats a lot of fish.  And a lot of stuff in plastic.  Must be noodles.
  • Also, I want to stay with the Italians, their food looks good and I want to know what they do with the persimmons.
  • The family from Chad broke my heart, but that’s the point, no?  Still broke my heart.
  • That Kuwaiti kitchen looks barren, that’s got to be a kept family, no one who isn’t paid to keep a kitchen clean keeps it that clean, that devoid of family artifacts and foo foo stuff.  But their food collection looks awesome, I’d love to eat there. (Can you spot the domestic help?)
  • The Black American family’s food looks horrid.  Ugh.  I only saw a couple of fresh things besides meat on the table.
  • The Mexican family’s food look fabulous, but they drink a buttload of soda.  I’ll go there and bring some bottled water.  Wait, they copied me and painted their room the same color as my bathroom.  What’s up with that?
  • Seriously, Chinese mom looks sweet.  I want her to teach me her recipes and how to use that hot pot in the background.
  • Also, I’ll hang with the Polish family, they eat great food.  How can you not like pig’s knuckles with parsnips?
  • Egypt.  I’ll eat there too.  Notice how everywhere there’s soda it’s “No Pepsi, Coke!”
  • Ecuador looks great, I love the way they put their carrots in the rice.  Very decorative.  Not much meat though.
  • White American family eats crap too!  YUCK!  It’s like Where’s Waldo, except it’s “Find the actual food!”
  • Mongolian family – I’m all over it.  Hi! My name is Vivian and I’m a dumpling-aholic!  Mutton dumplings?  Sign me up, that sounds delicious.  Especially if they teach me!!
  • British mom looks, um, cranky.  They eat crap too.  Ugh.
  • Bhutan looks awesomely delicious, though, I’ll need to bring some to spread it out.
  • German family!  I’ll totally go there.  Also! BEER!!!!  But teenage daughter needs a good kick, look at that face.  sheesh.

So, there is my fresh food rant with commentary.  Which is really just more rant.

This entry was posted in Recipes/Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooking From Scratch. Ish.

  1. Nancy says:

    I’m the chief cook in my house, and what I find most difficult is coming up with menus. Since I’ve been leaning on my husband to help, it’s somewhat easier. But if we don’t get around to discussing it … sigh.

    And I know there are enough recipes for something new to eat every day, but people, at least in my family, get used to familiar foods, and kids hate trying new things. I do try, though, to introduce something new now and then.

    I think houses in futuristic novels could be written without kitchens because who cooks at home anymore?

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Yeah, new, different and interesting are difficult. Then there is that whole “getting picky people to eat something they haven’t eaten before” thing. Even if that new, different and scary thing is just a new shape of pasta.

    Still, anything is better than reformed chicken bits glued together with edible glue. Gack!

Comments are closed.