The Peace of a Thankful Heart

Today is a day set aside for us as a nation to remind ourselves of the wealth, riches and blessings we are so priveledged to experience.  Lincoln was wise beyond his understanding to make this day a National Day of Thanksgiving.

My 2008 List of Gratefulnesses:

  1. Always, my first and most passionate thanks goes to my God, Lord and Savior.  I am unworthy to sit at His table, yet a place is always set for me.  Not under the table to eat the scraps, no.  I am seated as a Royal Princess, treated to the bounty of His possessions and given a right to feast alongside the King of Kings.  I am grateful for my salvation that came to me through the sacrifice of the Worthiest, graciously and freely given.  I am given the unimaginable wealth of His regard, His love, His care.
  2. My family is a gift given by my God to bless me and they have.  My father is a dear man who loves me deeply.  I return that love.  My siblings are a treasure, each of them.  Individuals with sharp minds who challenge me, love me and encourage me.  My nieces and nephews are my delight.  They are my jewels.
  3. My daughter is a special and distinct gift from God.  She is always a reminder to me that my God guides me and chooses my life with purpose and with the intent to bless and protect me.  I am eternally grateful that I chose to have her, to release her for adoption and that she has life.  My granddaughter is my reminder that God’s choices for my life aren’t always about me.  She is wonderful and lovely.
  4. God has given me a wealth of friends, who care for me and about me.  They are willing to challenge me to do good, to remain cheerful despite a hope deferred, to encourage me, and to tolerate my many cranky moments.  They joyfully share their pain, sorrow, grief, joy, happiness and annoyances with me and allow me to experience their lives and to stand along side to cry, laugh, mourn and giggle as the circumstance directs.  That they put up with me astounds me.  I am grateful for them.  Very.
  5. My Republic.  I love this country, I love the Liberty I am granted by right of the Constitution to freely express my religion, loves, likes, dislikes, politics and preferences.  I am exceedingly grateful in this election year, that I live in a country whose example of a peaceful exchange of power is a shining beacon to all nations.  It can be done and is done here every 4 to 8 years.  Hallelujah!  I took this understanding for granted until I read an article by Theodore Dalrymple that expressed the relief of many around the world that we would and could elect someone new and that there would be no coup from the old guard to prevent the new guard.  At first I was highly offended at that suggestion, we don’t behave that way here and to me it was ludicrous beyond belief to imagine anything as silly and destructive as a coup taking place after an election.  But then, I thought, they don’t really know us.  More is the pity for them.  Other thoughts on this at another time.
  6. My boss and co-workers are a blessing they can not imagine.
  7. The garden my mother left me is an exceedingly great blessing.  It pleasures me to just look at it.
  8. My cat.  She’s a knucklehead, but a fuzzy, fluffy knucklehead who loves me and I her.
  9. Bob. That tasty turkey that is right now soaking in a bath of happy, fragrant spices and citrus waiting to become dinner.  At 5:00 PM.

The stock and wine for the gravy is currently reducing to become a glossy, flavory blanket for the mashed potatoes.  I must go make pumpkin mousse, set the tables, clean the bathrooms and enjoy this sunny, cold day.

Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Peace of a Thankful Heart

  1. novice101 says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, Vivian!

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. But I am always in the mood for gratefulness. Hope you don’t mind me joining in. Your president, Abraham Lincoln is so wise!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    Gratefulness gives us contentment and peace of mind. These two qualities help reduce our stress level which helps greatly in keeping us healthy.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

  2. Dana says:

    Just lovely, Vivian Louise. Happy Thanksgiving to you, too, dear friend.

Comments are closed.