Civics Quiz

I got 28 out of 33 correct.  Dang it.  84.85%.  I got a B.  Minus.  Crap!  Most people fail.  But I only got a B.  Dang it.

Okay, so you take it and report back to me.

The Civics Quiz

Here is the Report Card.  Oh. My. Dear. And. Fluffy. Cat!  That so many fail is scaring me.  I mean, well, Crap on a Pancake!  What the heck!

The major findings are:

  • Less than half can name all three branches of the government.
  • Only 21% know that the phrase “government of the people, by the people, for the people” comes from Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address.
  • Although Congress has voted twice in the last eight years to approve foreign wars, only 53% know that the power to declare war belongs to Congress. Almost 40% incorrectly believe it belongs to the president.
  • Only 55% know that Congress shares authority over U.S. foreign policy with the president. Almost a quarter incorrectly believe Congress shares this power with the United Nations.
  • Only 27% know the Bill of Rights expressly prohibits establishing an official religion for the United States.
  • Less than one in five know that the phrase “a wall of separation” between church and state comes from a letter by Thomas Jefferson. Almost half incorrectly believe it can be found in the Constitution.

YIKES!!!!!  Congress sharing power over our Nation’s Sovereignty with the United Nations?  ACK!!!

So, in the interest of National Security and to Ensure the Blessings of Liberty to Ourselves and Our Posterity*, please, turn off your iPods, Televisions and Radios.  Put down that tattered edition of Twilight you’ve been reading non-stop for the last 6 months.  Let the Mario Brothers die.  Come with me to…

And

And

*Who writes like this anymore?  I want people to think like this.  Oh yes, I do.

This entry was posted in History, Me Weeping, Our Culture in Hell, The Republic!, Uncategorized, Vacuosity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Civics Quiz

  1. Assentia says:

    I got 25/33, and I’m not even American.

    Hang on… perhaps that’s exactly why.

  2. Brandi says:

    I got 27 correct, and I’m proud to say that I got the six that were listed in the major findings correct.

    To be honest, I was surprised I did as well as I did. I knew a lot more than I expected to–I really hated my US government class in school. Luckily I read a lot.

  3. Mamaslyth says:

    My post on it – http://mamaslyth.livejournal.com/1376872.html

    I also missed six on it and reading what I missed there were two that upon rereading, I realized that I did know the answer, but had a brain fart. I better go and have a review.

  4. vivianlouise says:

    It is embarrassing that so many Americans don’t know their own government processes well enough to pass this test.

    I was brain farting through some also. Duh!

    At least I had no problem naming the three branches of government.

  5. Yertle says:

    I adore the School House Rock videos! Great find!

    I may attempt the quiz later today; you guys have me a little afraid of what I might not know!

    Yertle

Comments are closed.