A Love Letter to Our Veterans

Dear Veterans of the United States of America,

Thank you.  Thank you with all my heart.   I honor you with all that I am.  I am endlessly grateful for your service to this nation.  Thank you.

I am often driven to tears when I think about the cost of serving this great country under arms.
You will see your friends killed in battle, and you go on.
You are vilified not only in enemy nations, but by your own fellow country men, and you go on.
You come home injured visibly and invisibly, and you go on.
You put up with the often silly  beaurocracy of the military, and you continue to honor your country anyway.

I am grateful to you.  When I voted last week I thought about you with every choice.  I thought about the cost this country has paid, past and present, to experience a peaceful transfer of power.  I know how very rare that is, so rare that it is a shining hallmark of our Republic.  And we owe that singularity to you and your courage to serve your country.

I am grateful to you for your honorable service.  With very few exceptions, you represent your country with honor, compassion, dogged determination, ingenuity, humor, courage and bravery.  Oh, thank you!  I am so proud to be called an American, I am so proud to share that with you.

God bless you, our veterans.  May you know in this life the gratitude of a knowledgeable people.

Thank you.

Love,
Vivian

This entry was posted in History, Public Service Announcements, Veterans Day, War and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Love Letter to Our Veterans

  1. Brandi says:

    Mr. D says you’re welcome. 🙂

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Tell Mr. D it is my honor.

  3. teeveebee says:

    Thank you, Vivian. My sentiments, exactly.

    I’ve read several posts on your blog and have enjoyed your verve and style. I’ve added you to my favorites. Keep up the good work.

  4. vivianlouise says:

    Teeveebee, you are welcome. I’m honored and I love the pictures on your blog. I’ll add your distinctiveness to my own…(a little Borg humor) Thank you.

Comments are closed.