Sunday Top Ten List – Things I Love About Autumn

This instalment is my annual ode to Autumn.

  1. Cooler Temperatures. Yes, I’ve said it before, yet every year brings me back to absolutely loving nights that plummet to 50 degrees.  Sleep just isn’t better than in the fall.  Windows wide open, chill air wafting in with the sound of crickets and frogs singing their last, dying songs of the season.
  2. Pumpkin. Oh, lovely orange and yellow and green gourd, happy am I when you appear.  I adore all things pumpkin.  Pumpkin pie, pumpkin squares, pumpkin curry and pumpkin pasties.  I heart pumpkin.  I even like the color.  Someday I will paint a whole room pumpkin orange.  Then I will be happy.  Really happy.  Until I want something else.
  3. September Blue Skies. Somehow the skies seem bluer in September than they do the rest of the year.
  4. Pretending I’m going to Christmas shop early. I do it every year, but this year I mean it.  Really.  I do.
  5. Thinking about Christmas. I start early.  I’ll be making lists of the things I need to do.  Like, for instance, when to make the rum balls.
  6. Jumping in a leaf pile. Unless it contains sticks from my pyracantha.  That sucker has thorns!
  7. Anticipation for Gingerbread Stuffing. Nigella Lawson’s Gingerbread Stuffing from her book Feast is flat out heaven in a pan.  That stuff is addicting and beautiful.  How could it not be?  It’s got gingerbread, apples and bacon.  Really, it does.  BTW – I recommend this cookbook, with no reservations.  I’ve cooked multiple recipes from it, each of them is fantabulous.  Her instruction on turkeys is dead on.
  8. Samoas. Those 12 packs of chocolate-drizzled coconut sin in a box KILL ME!  My niece is selling them now.
  9. The Skinny German Juggle Boy. He performs at the Maryland Rennaissance Festival and he is snort-milk-out-your-nostrils funny.  The RennFest is fun all by itself, but Hilby makes it a fabulous day.
  10. Did I mention pumpkin, turkey, gingerbread and rumballs?  It’s the anticipation of the holidays that I enjoy, I really enjoy it.  Also, the smell of Christmas trees, frankincense, fires, leaf mold, snow storms on the wind and wet earth make me really happy.
This entry was posted in Lists, Top Ten Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Top Ten List – Things I Love About Autumn

  1. Brandi says:

    Regarding #5–I started playing my Christmas CDs today.

  2. vivianlouise says:

    I’ll be looking through mine to begin any moment. I have a Renaissance one that I simply adore. Next, the Medieval Christmas Music!

Comments are closed.