3, Is the Magic Number…

The other day I watched “Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader” for the first time.  Meh, it’s okay.  One of the questions, though, reminded me of the fact that Schoolhouse Rock taught me well.  Very well.  The question was “Which of these documents begins with: We the People of these United States in order to form a more perfect union…”  The choices were: A. The Declaration of Independence. B. The U.S. Constitution and C. the Magna Carta.  Oooo, Oooo!  Pick me, pick me!!!!! I know, I know!!!!!

Nevermind that I know that the Magna Carta is written in Medieval Latin and was sealed by King John in the 13th Century.  Plus, I’ve seen the copy in the National Archives.

I knew the answer to the question because I was a devotee of Schoolhouse Rock.  Oh, yes, I’d recited the preamble to the Constitution frequently and to this day can quote it.   Why?  Because of this catchy tune:

The Magic Number is my favorite SHR short.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.