100 Things You Must Eat Before You Die

“Here are the rules, according to the blog Very Good Taste:

1) Copy this list into your blog or journal, including these instructions.
2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.
3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating.
4) Optional extra: Post a comment here at
www.verygoodtaste.co.uk linking to your results.”

Hattip to Katie Favazza through Conservative Grapevine.

Since I can never leave well enough alone, below the fold you will find more details on certain items if I thought it was interesting enough. For instance, I do not have a fascinating story about the time I ate a PB&J and the wacky hijinks that ensued. I just don’t, okay? Back off. If I can figure out how to scoot you there with a click, I will. Otherwise, it’s the old fashioned scroll.

1. Venison*

2. Nettle tea

3. Huevos rancheros

4. Steak tartare*

5. Crocodile

6. Black pudding

7. Cheese fondue

8. Carp

9. Borscht*

10. Baba ghanoush

11. Calamari

12. Pho

13. PB&J sandwich

14. Aloo gobi

15. Hot dog from a street cart

16. Epoisses*

17. Black truffle

18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes

19. Steamed pork buns*

20. Pistachio ice cream

21. Heirloom tomatoes*

22. Fresh wild berries

23. Foie gras

24. Rice and beans

25. Brawn, or head cheese

26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper

27. Dulce de leche

28. Oysters

29. Baklava

30. Bagna cauda

31. Wasabi peas

32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl

33. Salted lassi

34. Sauerkraut*

35. Root beer float

36. Cognac with a fat cigar

37. Clotted cream tea

38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O

39. Gumbo

40. Oxtail

41. Curried goat

42. Whole insects*

43. Phaal

44. Goat’s milk

45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more

46. Fugu*

47. Chicken tikka masala

48. Eel

49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut*

50. Sea urchin

51. Prickly pear*

52. Umeboshi

53. Abalone

54. Paneer

55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal

56. Spaetzle*

57. Dirty gin martini

58. Beer above 8% ABV*

59. Poutine

60. Carob chips

61. S’mores

62. Sweetbreads

63. Kaolin

64. Currywurst

65. Durian

66. Frogs’ legs

67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake

68. Haggis

69. Fried plantain

70. Chitterlings, or andouillette

71. Gazpacho

72. Caviar and blini

73. Louche absinthe*

74. Gjetost, or brunost

75. Roadkill*

76. Baijiu

77. Hostess Fruit Pie

78. Snail*

79. Lapsang souchong*

80. Bellini

81. Tom yum

82. Eggs Benedict

83. Pocky

84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant.

85. Kobe beef

86. Hare

87. Goulash*

88. Flowers

89. Horse

90. Criollo chocolate

91. Spam

92. Soft shell crab*

93. Rose harissa

94. Catfish

95. Mole poblano

96. Bagel and lox

97. Lobster Thermidor

98. Polenta

99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee*

100. Snake

#1 & 75 – Yes, I’ve eaten Bambi, I will again. In fact, I’d like to shoot my own Bambi-mamma someday and eat her. In season of course. I love Bambi chili. Additionally, I’ve eaten road-kill twice, that I know of, and both times it was venison. Oddly enough, both times there are funny stories attached. Hmmm, I’ll need to do a post.

#4 – This is closest to beef in its best and purest stage. I like tartare, but not as much as I like a steak rare. I like beef to have at least a passing acquaintance with fire, but not a close relationship.

#9 – Rasa’s Mom made us a very tasty cold Borscht made with beets from her garden. Oh so delicious. Oh so tasty. In Lithuania.

#16 – I adore cheese. Most of the time. I can only take so much of the stinky cheeses. If the description is correct, this is one of the stinkier stinky cheeses. I’ll try it. Maybe.

#19 – I am dying to try authentic Chinese Bao. Dying I tell you. I am a fan of steamed dumplings, I’d very much like to become an experienced fan of Pork Bao.

#21 – Have you even met me?

#34, 56 & 58 – Both my grandmothers were full blooded Germans. Nuff said.

#42 & 92– Do the dozens of gnats I’ve swallowed whole while riding my bike when I was a kid count? ‘Cause then I’ve eaten them. If not, well then, my intention is to never eat a whole bug. Unless you categorize bugs to include crabs and lobster, because then the answer is not only a “been there done that” it’s a “going to go there and do it again”. Except for the shell. I hated soft shell crab. Euw.

#46 – Why the heck would I risk my life to eat something that isn’t mind blowingly delicious? WHY?? Why do people do this just to say they ate it? No one I know who has eaten it would say it was the bestest flavor in all the world, nothing compares, I’d risk my life again! That’s just so stupid, it’s not even all that. I’ll eat that salmon, thank you. Why? Because I can catch it and clean it myself without risking my life in the process. And it’s dang tasty.

#49 – KK’s aren’t all that. I don’t really like them, they are tasteless. Okay, not totally tasteless, just mostly sweet. Unrelentingly super sweet. Cloyingly super sweet. And they are downright sweetened cardboard 10 minutes after they come out of the fat.

#51 – I first tried these in Arequipa, Peru while visiting my sister Laura. This little Indian woman would ring the bell and we would trot out with a bowl and some money. She would peel them and drop that delicious glisteny fruit in the bowl. I was mad for them.

#73 – It is a great desire of mine to drink absinthe. I keep meaning to pick up a bottle, but somehow I never do stop at the booze store to get it. It’s legal now. I’m really just longing to drink it. And then write in the fashion of Oscar Wilde. But I won’t smoke opium, I must draw the line somewhere. At least one line. Somewhere.

#78 – I can barely choke back most mushrooms because of their cooked texture, a cross between snot and decomposing rubber bands. I can not and will not eat something that squishes like a snail. It leaves a trail of yuck behind it. All the time. Euw. Just Euw.

#79 – I don’t like it. I just don’t. I tried it once and hated the smell of it, then when I drank it I REALLY hated it. It’s yucky.

#87 – My grandmother’s ghoulash was to die for. Yes, I know, I spelled it incorrectly. And?

#99 – JBMC is not all that. It’s not my favorite coffee, it’s not even in the top 10. I love Ethiopian Yirgacheffe and Sumatra Mandheling. I love them so much. There were two flavored coffees I loved, one was a Viennese Cinnamon and the other was a Spanish Orange coffee that I’ve never found again. Both of the flavored coffees were naturally flavored so there were no aftertastes, just the smoothness of good coffee with the perfect amount of flavor. Seriously, I crave that orange coffee. I have never seen it again. I used to drink it when I worked at the Wild Oats in Westminster, Colorado. Right now the best coffee I regularly lay my hands on comes from Barista Brava in Rockville, Maryland. They sell it at Sam’s Clubs locally. Their Sumatra coffee is the real deal, the bombdiggety, the one.

This entry was posted in Blog, Lists, Recipes/Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 100 Things You Must Eat Before You Die

  1. Brandi says:

    I’m going to have to go visit the blog…I’m feeling ignorant. I don’t know what many of those things are…

    I’m surprised by your mushroom comment. For some reason I assumed you’d be a mushroom lover.

  2. Thanks for the hat-tip! It looks like you enjoyed going through the list as much as I did. 🙂

  3. vivianlouise says:

    Brandi – Don’t worry, Grasshopper, you will learn. You will. *food noob!* 😉

    Katie – You are so welcome, I had a blast. I really wanted to say something about each selection, and then, I was overcome with stuff I had to accomplish. Like dinner.

    Now, I’ve got to write those roadkill stories.

Comments are closed.