Top 10 List – Why I Like Coffee

10. The smell. 

9. Face it, it’s one of the few legal stimulants you can safely brew in your own home. 

8. It provides a cash crop for Columbia that can’t be snorted up your nose.

7. It provides a handy foil for my half and half habit.

6. It’s just sooooo good with chocolate.

5. I get to say “Sumatra” when I order my favorite beans at Peaberry’s. (say it like this ‘SooooooouuuuuuMAHtraaaaaahhh’)

4. When it’s done, it’s done, I don’t have to wonder if I can get a stronger caffiene kick if I leave it in the pot for one more minute.  It only gets worse.  Whereas tea gets stronger the longer the leaves are in the hot water, thus I end up drinking semi-warm tea half the time.  Hot coffee is ready to drink the minute it’s through the grinds.  Unless you use a French Press, which, though it makes the best coffee, is a pain to clean. 

3. Holding the warm mug on a cold winter’s morning.

2. That lovely burn at the back of your throat when you gulp down the first sip early in the morning. 

1. The taste, really I love it.  Just half and half (see #7) and coffee, no sugar, no sprinkles, just the milk and the coffee.  I like espresso straight up. 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 10 List – Why I Like Coffee

  1. Nancy says:

    We drink our coffee the same way, I see. And I’m with you on #7.

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Oh, goody, then I can bring you your cup in bed when we visit Charlotte in South Africa. Now we just need Dana’s and Charlotte’s preferences.

  3. Dana says:

    Caffeine. And lots of it. Thats my preference!

Comments are closed.